Larry Hadley Service Award038Hadley Larry-2

In recognition of the late Larry Hadley and his many valuable service contributions to the field of Sports Economics, the North American Association of Sports Economists (NAASE) created an award in his honor. This award is given every four years to a deserving recipient who has distinguished herself or himself through service to the Association and the field of sports economics. While individuals can contribute to sports economics in many ways, this award is intended to honor those whose contributions are deemed unusual and outstanding in scope and duration.

Larry Hadley was a distinguished economist and long time faculty member at the University of Dayton who helped launch the burgeoning field of sports economics. Together with Elizabeth Gustafson, he organized one of the first sessions on sports economics at the Western Economics Association (WEA) meetings in 1995. Based on the popularity of these sessions, together with the growing worldwide interest in the discipline, the WEA currently allocates about twenty sessions at the annual meetings to sports economics.

One result of Larry’s efforts to initiate and nurture these annual sessions was the formation of the NAASE in 2007. Beyond organizing conference activities, Larry co-edited two widely cited and popular volumes of collected papers which surveyed a number of important research topics in the field. Finally, Larry was also a member of numerous editorial boards and scholarly associations, including the Journal of Sports Economics and the International Association of Sports Economists.


2014 Winner: Leo Kahane Kahane

The Association awarded the 2014 Lawrence H. Hadley Distinguished Service Award to Leo Kahane. Professor Kahane received his Ph.D. from Columbia University, and is Professor of Economics at Providence College after previously serving on the faculties of California State University- East Bay and Mt. Holyoke College. The author of several dozen refereed articles and book chapters, in February 2000, Leo founded the Journal of Sports Economics, the first journal dedicated solely to the field of sports economics. He went on to serve as the editor of the journal for 16 years as the journal doubled its number of annual issues and became widely respected as a leading economics journal, regardless of field.


2010 Winner: Elizabeth Gustafson gustafson_elizabeth-cropped

The Association awarded the inaugural Lawrence H. Hadley Distinguished Service Award to Elizabeth Gustafson — a colleague, co-author, and good friend of Larry Hadley. Professor Gustafson received her Ph.D. from the University of North Carolina, and served on the faculty at the University of Cincinnati, Miami of Ohio, and the University of Dayton (where she is currently the Associate Dean of the School of Business Administration). Elizabeth has a long and rich scholarly record which includes publications in the Review of Economics and Statistics, the Journal of Econometrics, and the Journal of Sports Economics. It was said that her service contributions to the Association, and to sports economics in general, are many and notable.